Department of Chemistry
Department of Chemistry
Academic Staff member

Dr. (Ms.) H. D. Jayasekara

Senior Lecturer Gr.II

B.Sc. (Special in Chemistry)- University of Ruhuna, Sri Lanka. , , MSc & Ph.D. -Department of Chemistry, Marquette University, USA.,
Email -
Office -
Extention - 4402

LinnkedIn ResearchGate Google Scholar

  • B.Sc. General Degree
  • CHE
  • B.Sc. Special Degree
  • Heterocyclic Chemistry CHE
  • Organic Photochemistry, CHE
  • Naturalproducts
  • Photochemistry
  • Distillation and Extraction Methods
  • Pharmaceutical Chemistry
  • Atmospheric chemistry and Soil Chemistry
  • Photoremovable Protecting Groups
  • Isolation of bioactive secondary metabolites from plants
  • Isolation of bioactive secondary metabolite from endophytic fungi isolated from plants
  • Food adulteration
  • Vajira. P Bulugahapitiya*, Fernando P.T.N and Jayasekara H. D."Anti-oxidant, pediculicidal and pesticidal activities of leaves of Rhinacanthus nasutus (Linn) grown in Sri Lanka",Asian J. Med. Biol. Res. 2020, 6 (4), 754-760; doi: 10.3329/ajmbr.v6i4.51243.
  • Jayasekara H.D., Fernando P.T.N. and Bulugahapitiya V.P, 'Phytochemical Screening, Proximate Composition and Antioxidant Properties of Rhinacanthus Nasutus (Heen Aniththa)", 8th International Science and Technology Conference(RISTCON), University of Ruhuna, Matara, Sri Lanka, February 17, 2021.
  • L. A. Panamgama, S.A.S.P. Perera and H.D. Jayasekara,"Effect of plant Phenolics on Physicochemical Properties of Gelatin Films",7th Ruhuna International Sciene and Technology Conference (RISTCON), Matara, Sri Lanka; January 22, 2020
  • Jayawardena Y.Y.S. and Jayasekara H.D.,"UV absorbing properties of extracts obtained from Canna flowers grown in Sri Lanka",6th International Science and Technology Conference, University of Ruhuna, January 30, 2019.
  • Prof. R.H. Wijayanayake Gold Medal for highest aggregate marks at the Bachelor of Science (Special) Degree in Chemistry final examination held in 2002, University of Ruhuna, Matara, Sri Lanka
  • Life Member -Institute of Chemistry Ceylon, 2005-Present