

The Best Creation Competition Organized by Birders' Club - University of Ruhuna

The first virtual Faculty Day of the Faculty of Science, University of Ruhuna was held on 04th August 2021 via zoom and the Best Creation Competition was organized by the Birders' Club to coincide with the Faculty Day - 2021.

The theme for the competition was "Life with the birds and saving them for future". The competition was held in three categories as Photographs, articles and posters/drawings. It was held as an open competition only for students, academic staff members and non-academic staff members of the Faculty of Science, University of Ruhuna.

More than twenty creations were submitted for the competition and the winners were chosen by the panel of three lecturers. Four winners were selected from each category. Reload prizes (for 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th places) and certificates (for 1st, 2nd and 3rd places only) were awarded to the winners by the organizing committee of faculty day-2021.

Our heartfelt gratitude is extended to our academic staff members of the Birders' Club and Department of Zoology, Dr. H.A.D.S.D. Perera, Chairperson of the Faculty day-2021 organizing committee, staff members of the Faculty day-2021 organizing committee for their guidance and motivation provided to all of us along the journey, student members of the birders' club for their support and to all the participants. Congratulations to the winners!







Winners – The Best Creation Competition

Photographs

1st place: H.S. Dilshan De Silva - SC/2017/10066

2nd place: Udara Nipuna Rathnayake - SC/2018/10377

3rd place: Rochana Weerasiri - SC/2016/9937

4th place: A.D.T.I. Madushanka - SC/2017/10011

Articles

1st place: M.S. Nisansala De. Costa - SC/2016/9667

2nd place: Udara Nipuna Rathnayake - SC/2018/10377

3rd place: A.V. Gamage - SC/2019/10983

4th place: A.A.S. Dabare - SC/2019/10955

Posters/ Drawings

1st place: Dilki Tharushika - SC/2019/11079

2nd place: Tehara Egodawaththa - SC/2019/10751

3rd place: Shammi Gunasekara - SC/2018/10366

4th place: E.A.D.C.D.M.P. Wijesinghe - SC/2017/9973

Congratulations to the winners!