faculty-banner   UoR Home | Virtual Tour | Video Archive | Ruhuna -Wiki

Welcome to the Faculty of Science

The Faculty of Science consists of the Departments of Botany, Chemistry, Computer Science, Mathematics, Physics, and Zoology. The Faculty offers primarily undergraduate courses leading to a three-year Bachelor of Science (General) Degree and four-year Bachelor of Science (Special) Degrees. [more]


  Untitled Document

Student Unions and Societies

Science Faculty Students' Union

According to the amended University act of 1988, Section 26, students of each faculty can form a Faculty Union comprised of all students of the faculty. The main objective of this union is to promote academic actions, to safeguard the rights of the student population, to work for the advancement and welfare of the students and the faculty.

Faculty Students' Union Academic Year 2012-2013


Prof. K.B. Suneetha Gunawickrama
Senior Treasurer


H. P. K. K.
Sadaruwan Amarathunga


Council Members

Chathuranga Bandara Herath

Sachitha Madupa Hettiarachchi

Vice President
Neelendra Hettiarachchi


A.M. Dinesh Arunashantha

A.A. Nuwan Kumara

P. Buddika Nalin Asiri


Sameera Nuwan Kumara

R.P. Don Mahesh Rohitha

K. P. Asanka
Jaliya Chiththrananda


A.R. Susantha Amarakoon


D.Tharindu Rukmal Jayasinghe

Junior Treasurer
S.Nadeesh Nuwan Kumara


Faculty Board Members

V. Thushara Lakmal

Erantha Sanjeewa


Student Societies

In addition to the Faculty Union, there are other registered societies, which are affiliated to different departments.
  • Nature Explorers' Society
  • Science Faculty Kala Hawula
  • Buddhist Society
  • Inventors and Innovators Society
  • Priya Sandana Scholarship Committee
  • Scientific Martial Arts & Yoga Exercise society
  • Botanical Society