faculty-banner   UoR Home | Virtual Tour | Video Archive | Ruhuna -Wiki

About the Faculty

The Faculty of Science consists of the Departments of Botany, Chemistry, Computer Science, Mathematics, Physics and Zoology. The Faculty offers primarily undergraduate courses leading to a three-year Bachelor of Science (General) Degree and four-year Bachelor of Science (Special) Degrees in subjects, Botany, Chemistry, Mathematics,Physics and Zoology. The Department of Computer Science initiated an additional four-year degree programme in Bachelor of Computer Science (BCS)in 2010. The undergraduate programme comprises of a large number of course units offered by individual departments.


The Faculty also offers postgraduate degree programmes leading to the M.Sc., M.Phil. and Ph.D. All the departments possess well-equipped laboratories and other infrastructure facilities for teaching and research work.


At present, the faculty recruits 130 students for the Biological Science and 210 students for Physical Science streams for the B.Sc. Degree and 50 students for the BCS Degree for every academic year. The selection of students for undergraduate courses is done by the University Grants Commission of Sri Lanka, based on the performance of students in the relevant General Certificate Examination (Advanced Level).


The Department of Computer Science is responsible in conducting BCS Degree programmes. A supplementary booklet with necessary information such as curriculum, examination details, etc. will be provided for BCS Degree students.

Explore the Facilities

Department of Computer Science

Department of Physics

Department of Chemistry